A lack of resources to attend costly LSAT preparation classes and to fund expensive admissions applications is a significant factor in hindering the application to law school by diverse students. The Sidley Prelaw Scholars Program aims to increase diversity in law schools and, eventually, in the legal profession by subsidizing the LSAT preparatory course and law school application expenses of diverse, high-performing college students who have difficulty paying the expenses associated with applying to law school.

"The Sidley Scholars Program prepared me for the upcoming year's curriculum and enabled me to focus on what's important right now - achieving academic success."
Isaac G. Lara, Sidley Scholar

“Sidley has a significant commitment to achieving greater ethnic and racial diversity within the legal profession and the firm. We wanted to develop a program that would widen the pipeline by helping to eliminate barriers at an earlier stage in a student’s career,” said Carter Phillips, immediate former chair of the firm’s Executive Committee. “Our diversity committee and staff are to be congratulated for developing this creative approach.”

2018 Program Timeline

Friday, January 12, 2018    Application deadline (postmark date or electronic submission) 
Week of March 12, 2018    2018 Sidley Scholars published to website the week of March 12, 2018.
Check website for the list of newly named Scholars: www.sidleyscholars.com 
April 2018    Start date for LSAT prep course for June 2018 LSAT
(exact dates vary by location and provider) 
Monday, June 11, 2018    June 2018 LSAT
Wednesday, September 5, 2018    September 2018 LSAT for Sabbath observers
Saturday, September 18, 2018    September 2018 LSAT
Saturday, November 17, 2018    November 2018 LSAT
Monday, November 19, 2018    November 2018 LSAT for Sabbath observers 
June/July 2019    Sidley Scholars Summer
Seminar (Exact date to be determined and may be subject to change.)  

For more information, please contact Merisa Lima.


Sidley Scholars will be selected on a competitive basis. To be considered as a Sidley Scholar, one must:

  • Be a second-semester college junior or a senior, graduating from an accredited American college in good standing no later than June 30, 2019, or be a very recent graduate of an accredited American college.
  • Be a native-born or naturalized U.S. citizen.
  • Submit a complete application and supporting materials by the application deadline.
  • Demonstrate financial need through the application and supporting materials.

Because of the mission of the program, preference will be given to the most well-qualified diverse applicants with an emphasis on populations underrepresented in the legal field.

Required Application Materials:

  • Completed Application (Signed and Dated) including Personal Statement (two page maximum);
  • Copy of most recent FAFSA Student Aid Report;
  • Official transcripts from all colleges/universities attended (unofficial transcript may be submitted initially; however, official transcript must be provided in order to receive award);
  • Résumé (one page maximum);
  • Signed and completed recommendation form from one academic reference in a sealed envelope. Recommendations may be submitted electronically to: sidleyscholars@sidley.com. If submitting electronically the form must be emailed directly from the recommender (and not the applicant).

Incomplete applications will not be considered.

Top applicant phone interviews will take place in late February through early March.

Expectations of Sidley Scholars

Each Sidley Scholar is expected to:

  • Graduate in good standing from college no later than June 30, 2019.
  • Meet all LSAT, law school application, and program deadlines.
  • Attend all classes associated with the LSAT preparatory course.
  • Attend the entire Sidley Scholars Summer Seminar in the summer before law school. 

The last installment of the scholarship award is contingent upon in-person attendance and successful completion of the Sidley Scholars Summer Seminar. It is expected that 2018 Sidley Scholars will attend the 2019 Summer Seminar. Reasonable travel expenses to the Summer Seminar will be reimbursed. 

  • Matriculate to law school in Fall 2019.
  • Be available via telephone and email to Sidley representatives from February 2018 through September 2019.
  • Upon starting law school, remain in touch with Sidley representatives to provide feedback on how the Sidley Prelaw Scholars Program is benefiting the Sidley Scholar during the first year of law school.
  • Upon an expression of interest, be available to a future Sidley Scholar as a mentor.

In rare circumstances, a student may request that the firm consider an exception to a requirement of the program. Sidley’s Diversity Committee will consider such requests on a case-by-case basis, but certain benefits of the program may not be made available to such student. For example, Scholars who do not attend the entire summer seminar will not receive the second installment of their scholarship award. All such decisions are at the sole discretion of Sidley’s Diversity Committee.

Congratulation to the new class of 2018-2019 Sidley Scholars!




Marlon Becerra

Hampshire College

Roberto Diaz

Dominican University

Emely Dickens

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Ishtar Edwards

Howard University

Brian Elizalde

Brown University

Jair Froome

Duke University

Brooke Henderson

University of Florida

Susana Herrera

University of California, Berkeley

Julie Joseph

Howard University

Joseph Kemp

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Shakayla Lee

University of Florida

Vivian Liu

University of Chicago

Lucia Lopez-Rosas

Stanford University

Vicente Martinez

Columbia University

Michelle Mejia

University of Chicago

Ottillie Mensah

University of North Carolina, Wilmington

Ariana Moore

Northwestern University

Silvia Moreno

University of Chicago

Andrew Ntim

Stanford University

Stephanie Odigie

Texas Tech University

Keyarias Pegues

Southern University A&M College

Daeja Pemberton

Texas A&M University

Ausjia Perlow

University of California, Berkeley

Jamon Phenix

Virginia Union University

Verlisha Phillip

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

DeShaun Pickett

West Chester University

Dulce Ramirez

California State University, Dominguez Hills

Jonathan Reiswig

University of Central Oklahoma

Katie Rogers

Loyola University of Chicago

Lucero Ruballos

University of Florida

Staci Shelby

Louisiana State University

Ana Urgiles

Stanford University

Christina Vo


Caleb Washington

Tuskegee University

Moses Washington

Morehouse College

Cheyanne Williams

Loyola University of Chicago

办公地点 中文 English